Switch language





Attractions

Back to list

Spasskoye Estate

Throughout its history the Spasskoye Estate on the bank of the Moskva river changed hands several times. The most notable owner was Nikolay Smirnov, the governor of St. Petersburg. His wife Alexandra Smirnova-Rosset was a friend of Alexander Pushkin, Mikhail Lermontov and Nikolay Gogol. In 1851, Nikolay Gogol stayed at the estate as a guest. It was here that he worked on the second volume of his poem “Dead Souls.” Interestingly, Gogol eventually burned the second part of the poem.

Building of the manor house began in the 1870s. It was designed by the architect Robert Goedike who became famous for his participation in designing the Znamenka and Mikhailovka luxurious palaces in the grand-ducal estates near St. Petersburg. Architecturally the house resembles the palaces of the Renaissance era. A signature landmark of the estate is the “The Snake Gate.” Laid out of brick, it has survived to the present day.

Originally, the estate was surrounded by a beautiful garden in a mixture of styles with a multitude of park structures. The only surviving feature of the park is part of its alleys. At present, the boundaries of its transition from regular to landscape layout is becoming less and less pronounced.

You can view a complex of auxiliary and service structures in Spasskoye. During the Soviet era Spasskoye housed a boy scout camp. Later on, the buildings were abandoned. Currently, Spasskoye is going through extensive restoration much like many other estates near Moscow.

Address: Moscow Region, Voskresensky district, the city of Voskresensk, the village of Marishkino, 1-a Spasskaya street

Directions: by local train from the Kazansky train station to the Voskresenk station, continue by public transportation or on foot to the village of Marishkino; by car down the M-5 highway to the intersection with the A108 Ring Road in the direction of Voskresensk, continue to the village of Marishkino, Spasskaya street