Switch language


Back to list

Dunino Estate – Mikhail Prishvin's House-Museum

The history of the Dunino Estate, located on the land known as “The Switzerland near Moscow” (which was popular during the early 20th century for building country homes) has an interesting history. The two-story house on the picturesque bank of the Moskva river was erected in 1899–1900. Prior to the revolution it belonged to several different owners. Then during WW II the estate became the defense line for Moscow and was razed to the ground. Soon after the war ended, the Russian writer Mikhail Prishvin took a liking to this picturesque place. The author of remarkable masterpieces both for adults and children performed a feat unheard of during the Soviet era by fully restoring the estate. Here the writer would spend a great deal of his time, especially during the last years of his life. Often the locals would see Prishvin in the vicinity of Dudino park where he enjoyed walking around with his camera, a pencil and a notepad. While living here he wrote his stories “The Moskva River”, “The Ship Timber Grove” and others. Mikhail Prishvin died in 1954. Then in 1980 they started creating his memorial house museum. Today an extensive exposition familiarizes everyone interested in the life and creative art of the writer. Preserved here are the setting of a post-war village house, whose extension serves as a home for Prishvin's famous car. The linden and spruce alleys are also well preserved.

Address: Moscow Region, Odintsovsky district, house #2 in the village of Dunino Hours of Operation: daily 11 am – 6 pm, Thu 1 pm – 7 pm, closed Mon and the last day of each month

Web-site: www.prishvin.ru

Phones: +7 (495) 992-66-43

Directions: by local train from the Belorussky train station to the Zvenigorod station, continue by public bus to the final stop “Porechie Sanatorium”; from the Molodezhnaya metro station by shuttle van #121 to “Lesnie Dali” bus stop; by car down the Rublevo-Uspenskoe highway until the 50 km marker to the village of Dunino