Switch language





Attractions

Back to list

Nikolskoye-Prozorovskoye Estate

From its inception the estate was the ancestral land of the Prozorovskys' Princes, whose bloodline was related to the Rurikids.

The estate has a number of interesting architectural features. The appearance of the houses and two wings constitute a rare example of stylistic imitation of the baroque style in the middle of the 19th century. These luxurious structures appeared at Nikolskoye-Prozorovskoye when the estate was owned by the Trubetskys' family. Even now, many years later the facades of the estate's buildings which are adorned with intricate molded decoration, remain.

The estate park with a multitude of “tricks” was divided into a landscape section and a regular section. Its chief centerpiece is the surviving grotto built in the late 18th century.

Following the revolution, the estate's house became home to a sanatorium and the structure was preserved for an extended period of time but since its closure, in the 1990s, the estate has begun to fall apart rapidly.

Another of the estate's well-known structures is the Church of St. Nicolas the Miracle Worker. It was built in 1792 by an unknown architect. The church is considered by the architects to be one of the brightest examples of classicism in the environs of Moscow. The St. Nicolas Church and the dilapidated belfry next door were fully restored in 2008 and handed over to the parish. Other remaining structures are in need of restoration.

Address: Moscow Region, Mytischinsky district, Nikolskoye-Prozorovskoye. Only the church is available for viewing

Directions: by local train from the Savelovsky train station to the Lobnya station, continue by bus #60; from the Altufievskaya metro station by bus #519 to Marfino, continue by bus #60 to the church; by car down the Dmitrovskoye highway to the 38 km marker, then turn right to Marfino, past the estate of the same name proceed to the church, the estate will be in front of you in an abandoned park