Switch language





Attractions

Back to list

Annino Estate

The old estate of Annino absorbed the atmosphere of both boyar and aristocratic cultures. The estate is believed to be named in honor of Anna, one of the wives of Ivan the Terrible. According to legend the cruel czar would exile the guilty wife to this quiet locale near Moscow before committing her to a convent. However, there is no way to officially verify the legend.

The estate in Annino was established in late 17th century by the Miloslavsky boyar dynasty. The most well-known owner of Annino was Ivan Miloslavsky, the prominent statesman at the court of the Russian czar Fyodor Alexeyevich. On Ivan's order the Church of the Icon of the Sign of the Holy Virgin was erected in 1690. It is a rare example of a tent-shaped church in the environs of Moscow. In the 18th century a belfry was added to the church. Unfortunately, in 1937 the church was shut down, while the frescoes, the iconostasis and the icons were lost.

The Annino estate preserved the manor house which was built in the late 18th century in the style of classicism.

The manor house is devoid of sumptuous decor, its architectural appearance catches the eye thanks to the red and white color blend of the facades and its pointedly simple decor. Prior to the revolution there was a ceremonial courtyard in front of the house, behind the house there was an old park with artificial ponds.

Annino was the birthplace of Alexander Voyeikov, a noted meteorologist, he was also one of the most active promoters of vegetarianism. The Voyeikovs' family owned the estate from 1812 to 1870s.

Currently, the MiG corporation is in charge of the Annino’s manor house, in this connection, access to the building may be restricted.

Address: Moscow Region, Ruzsky district, the village of Annino

Directions: by local train from the Belorussky train station to the village of Dorokhovo, continue by the bus; by car down the Minskoye highway, right turn to the A-108 Ring Road, 11 km away from the city of Ruza